Jamie Lenman’s new album Shuffle, set for release July 5th 2019, through Big Scary Monsters is certainly a release to get excited about. Are you ready for the ex-Reuben front man to make another huge step forward in doing away with the notion that he’ll settle comfortably into a sound or style as a solo artist? Today we hear the new single Killer that dropped along with a stunning video. 

Speaking of Killer Lenham explained “Although I’ve loved Killer since Seal brought out his solo version when I was eight years old, it was probably the last track I considered covering overall. All the other pieces (on Shuffle) I’d been playing around with for a few years in my head but we started jamming this one out in rehearsal and we just knew it had to go on the record. I know lots of other artists have covered it, and who could blame them, but I’ve never heard any of those versions so this is wholly my own take and I hope people love it!”

At its very heart, Shuffle is a covers, well musical reinterpretation, album, one where the listener can go on a shuffle journey of their own, through all media – music, movies, books, games, cartoons. Every now and then the shuffle will throw a curveball and maybe the listener skips it, or maybe they keep listening and it becomes their favourite. Devolver, producer Space (Idles, Black Futures) returns assisting Lenham in realising his hugely ambitious artistic vision for Shuffle, a record Long in the making.

“For me, this album has been a dream come true – total creative freedom, a chance to push myself into terrifying new territories.” says Lenham “There are so many parts of it that I still can’t believe we actually managed to achieve, from singing in ancient languages to acting with one of my heroes and so much more besides. I can’t wait for everyone to hear it.”

Let’s start the immersion into Shuffle with Killer:

Shuffle’s track-listings is as follows:

1. Tomorrow Never Knows
2. Killer
3. Taxi Driver
4. Popeye
5. You’re The Boss
6. Song Of Seikilos
7. Coda
8. She Bop
9. Adamantium Rage
10. Love Song For A Vampire
11. The Pequod Meets The Delight
12. A Handsome Stranger Called Death
13. Hey Jude
14. The Remembrance

You can preorder Shuffle via Big Scary Monsters, stay in the know via Jamie Lenham’s Facebook page and Twitter from where he tweets as @jamielenman.