We Are Scientists press shot

We Are Scientists Announce New Album & UK Tour

in News

We Are Scientists, the Brooklyn, New York based power pop troupe are set to return with their sixth album.

Titled ‘Megaplex’ and released via 100% Records on April 27th.

he infamous duo, Keith Murray (guitar/vocals) and Chris Cain (bass), are once again set to dazzle the world with ten brand new splashes of colourful and utterly addictive pop that serve as a welcome distraction to these bleak times we live in.

“In the past we’ve used our music to educate, to enlighten, to awaken people to the depth and complexity of moral concerns. This time, we really wanted to drop a fun-bomb. Something to dance or f*** to,” states Chris and ‘Megaplex’ achieves just that. Recorded at Tim Wheeler from Ash’s Atomic Heart Studios in NYC and once again produced by Max Hart (ex-Katy Perry), the duo set about honing down a sprawling burst of creativity to make the concise pop beast that is ‘Megaplex”.

“At this point in our career, we’ve written so many songs,” explains Keith.  “The pool for this record alone was something like 90 songs deep — that we know exactly what we want out of a We Are Scientists record. We want it to be taut, to bang hard, to have a big hook every four seconds or so. We don’t have to be precious about which songs make it onto a record; we can listen to the ones that didn’t make it at home, on our own time. ‘Megaplex’ is just the ten most delicious songs that we have — a stacked-up compound of entertainment.”

“It takes a lot of hard work, a lot of honing of craft to make it to six records,” continues Keith. “ I mean, the Velvet Underground never made six albums. The Smiths didn’t. Pavement, Guns N’ Roses, The Stooges — none of them could do it. So, I guess we’re just objectively better than those bands now? It’s just a mathematical fact, right? Van Halen made six with David Lee Roth but only four with Sammy Hagar, so I guess we’re better than Hagar-era Van Halen but only just as good as Roth-era? Which, saying it out loud, makes total sense, yeah.”

 

These are stark facts that cannot be argued when faced with the ten melodious molten nuggets that are simply blinding in their brightness. Yes folks, We Are Scientists are very much back.

“Our brilliant work in pop song writing is unsurpassed,” summarises Keith.  “And will probably make the We Are Scientists Name live beyond eternity.”

 

Catch the band live at the following dates:

Wed 28 Mar 2018 Southampton / The Joiners (50th Anniversary Show)

Thu 29 Mar 2018 Stoke / Sugar Mill

Fri 30 Mar 2018 Milton Keynes / Craufurd Arms

Sat 31 Mar 2018 Stockton On Tees / Stockton Calling

Sun 01 Apr 2018 Hull / The Welly

Wed 02 May 2018 Bristol / The Thekla

Thu 03 May 2018 Brighton / Concorde 2

Fri 04 May 2018 London / O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire

Sat 05 May 2018 Nottingham / Rescue Rooms

Sun 06 May 2018 Birmingham / O2 Institute3

Tue 08 May 2018 Leeds / Church Leeds

Wed 09 May 2018 Manchester / Gorilla

Thu 10 May 2018 Glasgow / The Garage

Fri 11 May 2018 Belfast / Limelight 2

Sat 12 May 2018 Dublin / Academy

Sun 13 May 2018 Sheffield / O2 Academy2

Go to Top
%d bloggers like this: