Album number 2 for the noughties

This week, it’s The Raconteurs’ second album, ‘Consolers Of The Lonely’.

The Raconteurs was Jack White’s next project after the break-up of his last band,The White Stripes, who featured in the 90’s section of Throwback Thursday, and he brought together some fantastic musicians to put out two wonderful albums. The Raconteurs consisted of; Jack White, Brendan Benson, Jack Lawrence, and Patrick Keeler. Both Keeler and Lawrence had already been part of a band together, and formed the rhythm section of The Greenhornes. Whilst both ‘Broken Boy Soldier’, and ‘Consolers Of The Lonely’ were great albums,  it is the latter of the two that has the edge for me.

This album features some of the best songs to come out the Noughties era, and is probably one of the most rocky, heavy albums released from the era. Heavy, dirty guitar is what White did best, and he continued it beautifully into this album, really showing his talent. For Benson to then go and match the skill and talent that White brought to the band was something that nobody thought possible, but they just bounced off each other perfectly, forming a truly talented songwriting partnership.

The album was released at the end of March 2008, with the band claiming that it was only recorded at the beginning of the same month. In the US, the album was released through White’s own label, Third Man Records, and debuted at 7th in the Billboard top 200, managing to sell over 40,000 copies in it’s first week in the charts. The album didn’t do quite as well in the UK, reaching 8th, however, the album has been certified gold in UK. The song, ‘Salute Your Solution’ also managed to place in the charts, reaching 8th in the US.

‘Salute Your Solution’ is probably the most notable of songs on this album, however, my personal favourite is the final song. ‘Carolina Drama’, which tells the tale of a broken family, with a struggling mother, an alcoholic boyfriend and two children, who end up being more than capable of trying to solve the problems. It’s not just this song that makes me think this album is so great though, it’s every song on the album. Here is a full tracklist;

  1. Consoler Of The Lonely
  2. Salute Your Salution
  3. You Don’t Understand Me
  4. Old Enough
  5. The Switch and The Spur
  6. Hold Up
  7. Top Yourself
  8. Many Shades Of Black
  9. Five On Five
  10. Attention
  11. Pull This Blanket Off
  12. Rich Kid Blues
  13. These Stones Will Shout
  14. Carolina Drama

The album has a perfect blend of slow, bluesy tales, and heavy, alt-rock songs, reminiscent of The White Stripes. From lyrics that speak more words than they seem to, and the perfect crafting of instruments, to the perfect blend between Benson and White, this album is short of nothing. It’s a whopping 55 minutes of well crafted, balanced musicianship, and then the talent each member brings to the band is the icing on the cake. Both White and Benson wrote amazing lyrics, then complimented it with their perfectly matched guitar playing, allowing Lawrence and Keeler to keep it simple, yet still be able to show off.