We’re all in this together is the latest offering from legendary blues guitarist Walter Trout.

The album is due out Friday September 1st and features 14 tracks, thirteen of which Walter Trout wrote, the only one which wasn’t was The Sky is Crying, a song he’d played alongside Warren Haynes at a recent Jazz festival.

Warren Haynes isn’t the only guest on this album, it is littered with many big names, mostly from the blues scene, stars that are both established, and also several of the young guns too.

Each track has been crafted with specific guests in mind, and features separate guests, as Walter himself said recently ‘they were written with specific guests in mind’. For me its been a crash course in the blues, but definetly enjoyed.

Opening track on the album Gonna hurt like hell features Kenny Wayne Shepherd, the track is a good opener, upbeat and grabs the attention, with what some would describe as a typical blues shuffle. The next track Aint goin’ back seems to follow a similar pattern to a ‘12 bar’ style, and featuring Sonny Landreth one of the great slide guitarists raves Trout.

The Other side of the pillow follows on featuring Charlie Musselwhite, it’s a much slower track and includes some interesting keyboards and harmonica work, unlike previous track where the guitar takes the lead for this the harmonica really takes prominence. She listens to the Blackbird sings features ex Royal Southern Brotherhood guitarist, Mike Zito; instantly this comes across as a ‘blues rock style’, maybe not so bluesy as previous tracks but to some maybe more accessible . Mr Davis is an instrumental blues track played alongside Robben Ford, both played in the supersonic blues machine back in the day. Ford brings a certain fusion of jazz in his style of blues that suit this track.

The sky is crying is the only cover, The ide a for this track initially came from an appearance Walter made when asked to join Warren Haynes at a Jazz festival, it was a piece they both enjoyed playing, so much so that they wanted to record their version. Both do this track credit, it’s played with passion and comes across very well here. Somebody going down comes across as heavier initially, then takes on a bold rockier stance and features Eric Gales, this was a particular favourite of mine, punchy, heavier blues rock, a real chance for two heavyweights of their genre to excel.

For She steals my heart away Trout joins Edgar White, the track is much lighter in style, and appears is merge several musical styles together a fusion of blues, pop and Jazz, the former underpinning the song while the other two carry it. Crash and burn is a much more ‘hectic’ in its approach, it suits Joe Louis Walker and Walter Trout electric blues style, JLW as he’s been known has a habit of pushing boundaries, maybe not so much in this song, but both convey it well and is a great showcase for the pair.

Too much to carry features John Nemeh, one of the younger stars, his brand of soulful blues shine through for a track with style, its clear to see why Nemeh is currently being nominated for so many blues awards at the moment.

Do you still see me at all, is a collaboration with son Jon Trout ‘we’re heading for a fall’, no I don’t think so at all, this is a great track, very much contemporary in it style, yet still formed around a blue framework, its clear father and son work together well, but then ‘he shares my musical DNA’ exclaims Walter. The song was written in the family kitchen and while both are involved Jon contributed much of the lyrics, while Walter provides the tune. Got nothing left steps up a gear and features Randy Bachman, of legendary band Bachman Turner Overdrive. It’s typical rock and roll in the vein they (BTO) used to put out. His voice has lost nothing and is a great choice for this track

Blues for Jimmy T was written with John Mayall in mind, and for this the two produced an acoustic/blues harp song that adds another dimension to the album. Being acoustic its somewhat more laid back that some of the pervious tracks but is an interesting choice. The final track on the album includes Joe Bonamasa and is the title track We’re all in this together. Apparently this track was recorded live, at Joe’s request, and that translates well, its clear they both work well and appear to ‘bounce off each other’.

The album for me personally has been an eye opener, or perhaps ‘ear opener’, and has showcased so many different blues musicians, so many different sub genre’s if you like of Blues, I’ve come across on the album but I’d say there’s clearly something for everyone. Some tracks are more radio friendly or accessible, some are much deeper and could be argued encompass the whole ethos of blues, some are rockier, all show how versatile Walter Trout is as a musician, and how he can turn himself to the different styles so easily.

Not only is this album released Friday September 1st but Walter Trout is also out on tour his UK dates are as follows:


06 – Worthing Pier Southern Pavilion, Worthing,
07 – Chinnery’s, Marine Parade, Southend-on-Sea,
09 – The Brook, Southampton
10 – Under The Bridge, Stamford Bridge, London,
11 – Under The Bridge, Stamford Bridge, London,

13 – Central Station, Wrexham
14 – Warehouse 23, Wakefield
15 – Preston Guild Hall, Preston
17 – Robin 2, Bilston
18 – Public Hall, Harpenden
20 – Bierkeller Theatre, Bristol
21 – Sin City, Swansea
22 – Muni Arts Centre, Pontypridd

We rate:
4.5 rating