It Will Be Released In September Via Island Records

From a tweet from Tim Burgess to the release of a debut album in the space of a couple of years!

Announced yesterday (30th July), The Lathums will release their debut album, ‘How Beautiful Life Can Be’ on 24th September 2021! It will feature 12 tracks, and will include the recently released title track, which has already become a bit of fan favourite despite only having been released within the last couple of weeks.

Fans will have the chance to pre-order a limited edition, ‘first pressing’ of the album TODAY at Wigan Market, where the band will be setting up a stall in amongst the market traders as an opportunity for fans to meet the band, get autographs, exclusive merchandise and pre-order the album!

The album has been recorded at Liverpool’s Parr Street studios, with the help of producers James Skelly and Chris Taylor. The band and producers have also worked on a new version of ‘The Great Escape’, which the band had previously self released, but will now have the touch of Skelly and Taylor!

It was only in the summer 2019 that the band’s fuse was lit by Tim Burgess, who offering them a late slot at Kendal Calling where, inside 24 hours, social media chatter caused their audience to spill out of the tent and into the fields! A year later they had achieved their first UK Album Chart Top 20 for vinyl-only EP compilation, The Memories We Make, recorded their debut appearance for Later… With Jools Holland and joined the BBC Sound Poll 2021 list of tipped acts at the end of a year that skidded on the black ice of a global pandemic but, somehow, left the band on their feet.

Looking confidently ahead to the weeks when summer turns to autumn, the release of How Beautiful Life Can Be lines up nicely with The Lathums’ delayed turn as tour support to Blossoms, shortly before the band sets off on their own, rescheduled and upgraded, 22-date UK Tour including a SOLD OUT ‘homecoming’ at Manchester’s O2 Victoria Warehouse.

The track listing has already been confirmed by the band, and looks like this;

1. Circles Of Faith
2. I’ll Get By
3. Fight On
4. How Beautiful Life Can Be
5. The Great Escape
6. I Won’t Lie
7. I See Your Ghost
8. Oh My Love
9. I’ll Never Forget The Time I Spent With You
10. I Know That Much
11. Artificial Screens
12. The Redemption Of Sonic Beauty

For a bit of something extra, there are many different limited edition bundles available for the album, all of which can be found here!