Goodbye jangly guitars, hello vocal melodies!

The band have released an acapella version of ‘How Beautiful Life Can Be’

The Lathums released their latest single, ‘How Beautiful Life Can Be’ around two weeks ago, but have now released a new version of the track, in acapella form. The band are known for walking out to an acapella version of The Housemartins’ ‘Caravan Of Love’, so it doesn’t come as too much of a surprise that they have decided to do their own acapella track, following gin the footsteps of those who have inspired them.

Working in collaboration with Chris Taylor (producer at Parr Street Studios)  and Paul Duffy (founding member of The Coral), the band drop their instruments and replace them with fantastic falsetto and earthy baritone, to create something really quite remarkable, especially from one of the most hotly anticipated guitar bands around at the moment.

The track is accompanied by a video, which the band shot in their native Wigan, and the video was directed by James Slater. The video sees the members of the band take a trip around Wigan Indoor Market, mixing in with the Saturday shoppers and market stall holders. The band played an impromptu gig in Wigan centre earlier this month, and planned on doing one in Manchester City Centre, which unfortunately was unable to go ahead.

The band have been hit hard already by festival cancellations this year, with Y Not, Kendal Calling and Truck Festival all dropping from their scheduled calendar, however the band will be performing at Sheffield’s Tramlines Festival on 24th July. They are also set to play a date in London in partnership with BBC Introducing, on August 11th. Alongside these dates, the band have an extensive tour planned, including a sold out return to Manchester, which will take place at Victoria Warehouse, as well as debut performances at Glasgow’s Barrowland Ballroom and London’s O2 Kentish Forum.

Their full tour schedule is as follows;

  • Sat 24 Jul            Sheffield, Tramlines
  • Thu 5 Aug            Leeds, Millennium Square w/DMA’s
  • Wed 11 Aug         London, Omeara w/BBC Introducing
  • Sat 28 Aug           Portsmouth, Victorious Festival
  • Sun 5 Sep            Warrington, Neighbourhood Weekender
  • Fri 10 Sep            Glasgow, TRNSMT 2021
  • Sun 26 Sep          Manchester, Castlefield Bowl – w/Snow Patrol
  • Wed 29 Sep         Newcastle, O2 Academy*
  • Thu 30 Sep          Birmingham, O2 Institute*
  • Sat 2 Oct              Nottingham, Rock City*
  • Sat 3 Oct              Liverpool, Sound City
  • Mon 4 Oct            Cambridge, Junction
  • Tue 5 Oct             Brighton, Concorde
  • Thu 7 Oct             London, O2 Forum Kentish Town*
  • Fri 8 Oct               Southampton, The 1865
  • Sat 9 Oct              Bristol, SWX
  • Mon 11 Oct           Sheffield, O2 Academy*
  • Tue 12 Oct            Leeds, O2 Academy*
  • Thu 14 Oct            Glasgow, Barrowland Ballroom*
  • Sat 16 Oct             Manchester, O2 Victoria Warehouse* SOLD OUT
  • Fri 12 Nov             Hull, Social – SOLD OUT^
  • Sun 14 Nov           Leicester, O2 Academy 2 – SOLD OUT^
  • Mon 15 Nov          Stoke, Sugarmill – SOLD OUT^
  • Tue 16 Nov            Cardiff, Globe SOLD OUT^
  • Wed 17 Nov          Oxford O2 Academy 2 – SOLD OUT^
  • Fri 3 Dec               Dunfermline, PJ Molloys – SOLD OUT^
  • Sat 4 Dec              Dundee, Fat Sam’s^
  • Mon 6 Dec            Aberdeen, The Lemon Tree – SOLD OUT^
  • Tue 7 Dec             Edinburgh, The Liquid Room – SOLD OUT^

*Upgraded and Rescheduled Dates
^Rescheduled Dates

Tickets are available through the bands WEBSITE. Tickets for rescheduled dates/upgraded dates still remain valid.

The Lathums also pick up rearranged arena tour dates with Blossoms and accept the invitation from Paul Weller to open his UK-wide run of shows later this year.

Having completed their debut album at Parr Street, produced by The Coral’s James Skelly, the band looks forward to revealing more new music before hitting the road.